City Holiday and Closing Schedule

Calendar Year 2014

Wednesday, January 1 - New Year's Day

Monday, January 20 - Martin Luther King's Birthday

Monday, February 17 - President's Day

Friday, April 18 - Good Friday

Monday, May 26- Memorial Day

Friday, July 4 - Independence Day

Monday, September 1 - Labor Day

Monday, October 27 - Veteran's Day

Tuesday, November 4 - Election Day

Thursday, November 27 - Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 28 - Day after Thanksgiving (civilians)

Thursday, December 25 - Christmas Day


Union employees should refer to the holiday schedule listed in their collective bargaining agreements or subsequent memorandum of agreement.

The City of Wilmington grants up to two floating days; to eligible employees per calendar year. Please refer to the City Code Section 40-332.1


Contact HR

Mailing Address

Department of Human Resources
Louis L. Redding City/County Building
800 N. French Street, 4th Floor
Wilmington DE 19801

Phone: (302) 576-2460

Fax: (302) 571-4298

TTY: (302) 571-4568

City Jobs Hotline: (302) 571-4666

Email: wilmjobs@WilmingtonDE.gov